### **BRIEF NOTE ON MPLADS**

The scheme has been implemented in the State since inception of the Scheme i.e. in 1993-94. The entitlement of fund for each MP (Whether LS or RS) is as under:-

### 1. Rs. 5.00 Lakhs for 1993-94

### 2. Rs. 1.00 Crore for 1994-95 to 1997-98

#### 3. Rs.2.00 Crore from 1998-99 onwards.

### 4. Rs 5.00 Crore from 2011-12 onwards.

There are only two Members of Parliament of the Lok Sabha, one for Shillong Parliamentary Constituency and one for Tura Parliamentary Constituency and there is only one Member of Parliament from the State to the Rajya Sabha.

## **Nodal Department**

Programme Implementation and Evaluation Department has been designated as the Nodal Department at the State level to monitor and coordinate with the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation. As specified in the Guidelines, review meetings at the State level chaired by the Chief Secretary/Senior level officer are to be held at least once in a year with the Deputy Commissioners, MPs etc.

### Implementation/execution of works

Majority of the works under the Scheme have been implemented through the BDOs, local bodies like Village Committees, Dorbar Shnongs, School Managing Committees and only few works are implemented through other State Government Departments like Municipal Board, MeECL, PWD, Housing, etc.

# **Nodal Deputy Commissioners**

There are two nodal Deputy Commissioners in the State viz. DC, Shillong and DC, Tura. The DC, Shillong is the nodal DC for sitting Rajya Sabha MP and Lok

Sabha MP from Shillong Parliamentary Constituency while the DC, Tura is the nodal DC for the Lok Sabha MP of Tura Parliamentary Constituency. DC, Tura was also Nodal DC for Shri T.Sangma, Ex-MP (RS) from 2008-2009 to 2012-13.

## Monitoring

At the State level, the State Level Monitoring Committee on MPLADS under the Chairmanship of the Chief Secretary was constituted to review the progress of the works at least once a year. The Commissioners of Division are also reviewing the performance of the works at District level. The Executive Engineers of DRDA of all Districts were also assigned to inspect the position of the works in the field. The BDOs are also required to inspect 100% of the works in their respective Blocks. The Officers of the Directorate of Programme Implementation & Evaluation are also carrying out field inspections on a regular basis in all Districts of the State.

# **Implementation of MPLADS – Lok Sabha MPs**

There are two elected members from the State to the Lok Sabha. One MP for Shillong Parliamentary Constituency and one MP for Tura parliamentary Constituency and their names are:-

# 1. (L) Shri P.G.Marbaniang- 1993-94 to 1995-96

- 2. (L) Shri G.G.Swell- 1996-97
- 3. (L) Shri P.R.Kyndiah- 1997-98 to 2008-09
- 4. Shri V.H.Pala-2009-10 till date.

5. (L) Shri P.A.Sangma/ Kum.A.Sangma- 1993-94 to 2008-09

6. Kum.A.Sangma-2009-10 to 2013-14

7. (L) Shri P.A.Sangma-2014-15 to 2015-16

### 8. Shri C.K.Sangma-2016-17 to 2017-18

### 9.Smt. A K Sangma-2019-20 till date

# Implementation of MPLADS – Rajya Sabha MPs.

There is only one elected member from the State to the Rajya Sabha & their

names are :-

- 1. (L) Shri G.G.Swell-1993-94 to 1995-96
- 2. (L) Shri O.L.Nongtdu- 1996-97 to 2001-02
- 3. Shri R.Kharshiing- 2002-03 to 2007-08
- 4. Shri T.Sangma/ Smti. W.Syiem 2008-09 to 2012-13
- 5. Smti.W.Syiem- 2013-14 till date.
- 6.Shri W R Kharlukhi-2019-20 till date.

**Dr B.B.Dutta** was the nominated member to the Rajya Sabha & he had recommended schemes for the State during the year 1994-95,1997-98,1998-99 & 1999-2000.